Skip to content
Tags

A Q of White Privilege

January 24, 2016

Almost every novel has more dialogue than I’ve gotten into this one so far (plus I believe that conversation is an archetypal verbal form), so I’m grabbing this divine opportunity:

You’re a white person. Let’s say Joe, or Heather, the Plumber.

One night God comes to you and says, “Joe or Heather, I love ya. Btw, right now in America I’ve got an imbalance of skin colors. Something like 9 white to 1 black. We need more diversity, so I’m going to change some white folks into black folks, and I’ve chosen you to be one among them.”

“Sure, God. Why not? And I love you, too.”

“I knew I could count on you, Joe or Heather. I’ve had my eye on you for some time. Now, my faithful servant Langston has worked up this partial list of skin tones. Take your pick.”

“Thank you, Lord.”

“And btw, this in not just a dream. Be sure to remember, and in the morning, after you’ve had some coffee, think it over. I want my children to be happy. If you change your mind, you have until noon to let me know.”

Okay, now, the Q (this is a tough one, it’s the one in the conversation at The Gate): Why do you not change your mind?

From → racism, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

