Skip to content
Tags

A Meditation Activity

November 12, 2015

Although the author and I (your humble narrator) are strictly lay persons when it comes to yoga, Zen, meditation, and mindfulness, he believes (and I concur) that they are important aspects of contemplation—imagination—of the subject of this novel.

Accordingly, very early in my narration I offered some pages of such contemplation; but since then, in spite of my daily practice, I have often been too fascinated by the ephemerics of politics to attend healthfully to ordinary reality.

So, on this page, I want to share a concrete meditative activity that works for me, for one. Just speaking about it will bring me and my narration back to ground.

I practiced this activity last night at the end of yoga class, while relaxing like a sentient corpse on a mat; but sometimes I simply take a break from thinking to sit and listen, with full attention (naturally this is especially pleasant outside in the summer). I focus on hearing, every sound, every perceivable vibration of the air, that reaches my ear drums. (At class this includes sounds made by anyone in the room, including me, by the building, and by pedestrians and vehicles; outside it includes birds, insects, the wind, neighbors, and occasionally vehicles and airplanes.)

My work is to attend to every sound (and thus implicitly to give myself to every being making sound) and nothing else.

A sound is only a sound. Each sound is as important as any other sound. When another thought comes calling, I notice it, let it go, and return to my ears. In this moment, no other thought is as important as a sound. (If a thought occurs that actually is more important, naturally the meditation ends.)

For me, part of the pleasure lies in not anticipating any sound, including the bell at the end of savasana. Thus I am continually surprised and refreshed by displays of the unique vitalities of being.  Sounds that the universe is making nearby. Micro vibrations. Randoms (concrete acts of being, experienced randomly).

What a way to die.

[Btw, I do not hold the patent to this intellectual property; I believe it floats in the public realm, where anyone is welcome to adapt it to their own delight.]

From → health

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

