Skip to content

This Blog Is a Novel

November 8, 2015

Greetings, dear reader. This is the author, “speaking” directly to you, rather than in the voice of my narrator. With a year to go before the election of 2016, which I personally think will be a watershed moment for American democracy and for the wellbeing of hundreds of millions of Americans, I’m thinking it’s a good idea to remind everybody that you are reading the working draft of my novel, as it is being written.

Every page, including this one, and the diary entries and dream journal, are pages of the novel.

The topic of this novel is “the psychopathology of American democracy.”

It’s a political novel; and it’s an experimental novel, in the current understanding of the sub-genre, “nonfiction novel.” To me, for one, that means that it is written as a work of art, to the best of my artistic ability, to be experienced primarily aesthetically, imaginatively, in the way that is typical of novels; it tells a story, via a narrator; and its content is as factually accurate and as subjectively true as I can be.

The finished novel will include introductory pages in which I’ll further explore these artistic matters.

Meanwhile, as I write and post, I’m very much aware of, and appreciative of, you.  Please enjoy.

Breathe well.

TK

PS: Here’s a relevant quotation that I just now came across (pub by Mark Sumner on Daily Kos at 8:01 PST):

I hope we shall crush in its birth the aristocracy of our monied corporations which dare already to challenge our government to a trial by strength, and bid defiance to the laws of our country. — Thomas Jefferson

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. How Fascism Came to America (5) | tomkoontz

Leave a Reply

