Skip to content
Tags

Diary 8-23-15

August 23, 2015

Dear Diary – This afternoon the air was so smoky that I couldn’t pick out the lines of buildings and trees on the ridge across from my house, that normally are very clear. There was a slight odor of burning, and a slight sluggishness in my breathing.

There are no fires within sight of Seattle, but an enormous number of forests and meadows are burning, to our west and south (and maybe north, in Canada). Apparently none on the Olympic Peninsula now, to the west.

I’ve heard that so many animals are fleeing that it is a problem for the firefighters—which reminded me of the fire scene in “Bambi,” which I must have seen (and been scared by) at age 4 or 5. Several of the Disney films of that time strongly influenced my views about life, and often not for the better, for instance my early understanding of gender and gender roles. Of course the films reflected (with visual and dramatic power for the child mind) and reinforced the pervasive views of the time.

From → diary

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

