Skip to content

Diary 5-4-15

May 4, 2015

Dear Diary – I’m working on a new painting, 19 x 13—yes I know that’s a weird size, a still life with a bowl and interesting small pitcher from the late ‘50s; an Ashanti (my friend told me, and yes for sure plundered) stopper from a funeral urn, in the shape of a neck and head tilted slightly back with a simply designed, deeply moving, grieving face; and nine bartlett pears (four in the bowl, but not able to fit). I might add a half of a pear, i.e. a pear only partially in the image, lower left, to ground the assemblage on the table top.

I think there’s a chance that this painting will have an interesting and appealing beauty. Of course to me the set up does.

From → aesthetics, diary

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

