Skip to content

Spring Is Here

January 16, 2015

Saw my first robin! When I opened the front door this morning, I heard a loud, relatively sustained, warning chirp in a tree close by, which I immeditately recognized. Sure enough, a small flock of robins, the closest with his eye on me and his posture ready for take-off if he had to. The air was almost mild, the sky filled with variegated clouds, some even vaguely bluish.

Two weeks ago I saw “my” last flock headed southward. Robins and others leaving the cold congregate in a group of trees on the opposite side of the house, and then stream toward SEATAC and Oregon, like the crows. The ones this morning were, even if a bit tentatively, back, and thinking of something else. It’s a different energy.

(Sat out on the deck in shirt sleeves–and “down” vest–in the afternoon sun.  Thanks, Global Warming.)

From → aesthetics, climate

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

